Student Recognition in Michigan Engineering

Michigan Engineers garner tremendous achievements both in and out of the classroom during their academic career. The College of Engineering is proud to celebrate the accomplishments of students who have demonstrated excellence in their academic work, leadership experiences and in service to others.

2017 Leaders and Honors Award nomination process is now open!

Submissions are now being accepted for the following individual awards:

  • A.D Moore Award
  • Arlen Hellwarth Award
  • Charles Barth Jr. Prize
  • Harry Benford Award
  • Henry Ford II Prize
  • Hugh G. Rumler Prize
  • Marian Sarah Parker Prize – Undergraduate
  • Marian Sarah Parker Prize – Graduate
  • Mildred and Steele Bailey Prize
  • Distinguished Achievement Undergraduate Award
  • Richard F. and Eleanor A. Towner Prize for Distinguished Academic Achievement
  • Epeians Emerging Leadership Award
  • Distinguished Leadership Award

Please use the nomination form for your submission. The self-nomination deadline for these awards is December 9, 2016.

The Elaine Harden Student Organization Award is now accepting nominations. Organizations must be part of Michigan Engineering to be eligible for consideration. Please use the nomination form to submit on behalf of your student organization. You may find a read-only version of the form here. The deadline for this award is January 16, 2017.

The Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award is now accepting nominations. Please use the nomination form to submit a nomination for this award. The deadline for this award is January 16, 2017.

Some awards may require a personal statement. We encourage applicants to keep their personal statements to 1-1.5 pages.

For descriptions of each award (including stipend amounts), please see the Award and Prize Description page. For more information about the College of Engineering student recognition efforts, please contact the Office of Student Affairs.

Beyond University awards and honors, the College offers multiple opportunities for student recognition. The College Awards and Prizes nomination process opens in November and culminates in the annual Student Leaders and Honors Brunch in March. The Roger M. Jones Fellowship and Poetry Contests are announced in late fall semester and selected during the winter. The Technical Communications department hosts writing contests each winter. And at the conclusion of each semester, the Dean’s List is published to celebrate undergraduate academic achievements.

For a complete listing of previous Leaders & Honors award and prize recipients please see the Award and Prize Recipients page.

Nayaz Khalid Ahmed

Thomas Andretti

Dr. John Barker, Professor of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences

Dan Becker

Dr. Luis Bernal, Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering

Yvan Boucher

Dr. Mark Brehob, Lecturer IV, Computer Science Engineering and Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Joseph Bull, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor

David Chesney

Vicki Choe

Sarah Clark

Mark Collyer

Isabel Cosnahan

Jennifer Dolan

Ronald Dreslinski Jr.

Kiran D’Souza

Daniel Ellis

Paul Giuliano

Jonathon Gold

Kristin Graf

Dr. Peter Green, Chair and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Professor of Chemical Engineering, Applied Physics, and Macromolecular Science and Engineering

Mike Hand

Kevin Joseph

Darryl Koch

Kyle Lady

Michele Mastria

Carl McGill

Nathaniel McKay

Anna Mitsak

Dr. Susan Montgomery, G. Brymer Williams Collegiate Lecturer; Undergraduate Program Advisor

Jeanne Murabito

Dr. Stephen Pollock, Herrick Professor Emeritus of Manufacturing; Professor Emeritus of Industrial and Operations Engineering

Dr. Emily Provost, Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Dr. Nilton Renno, Professor of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences

Dr. Jeff Ringenberg, Lecturer III, Computer Science Engineering

Alyssa Rolling

Jeffrey Rosen

Dr. William Schultz, Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Professor of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering; Faculty Director, Ginsberg Center

Dr. Jan Stegemann, Associate Undergraduate Chair and Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Lauren Strahs

Auresa Thomas

Dr. Armin Troesch, Professor of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering