

SUNDAY, MARCH 16, 2025

HOSTED BY Michigan Engineering and Tau Beta Pi-The Engineering Honor Society

#### GREETINGS FROM THE DEAN

On behalf of the College of Engineering, welcome to the 2025 Student Leaders and Honors Brunch! I am excited to join this exceptional group of students, family members, friends, and supporters in celebrating our honorees.

Today's event is a reflection of the values and excellence we strive to instill across Michigan Engineering. The students recognized today have made exceptional contributions in the areas of scholarship, research, leadership, and service—and they are bound to make a continued, positive impact in the years to come.

We appreciate the long-standing partnership of Tau Beta Pi—The Engineering Honor Society in hosting this event, and the steadfast support of our students' supporters from across our community.

Students, I applaud your leadership, innovative thinking, and the ways in which you apply your unique perspectives and experiences. You have each made significant achievements over the past year, and I look forward to learning about your continued success in the years ahead.

Go Blue!

Maren a. Shole

Karen A. Thole, Ph.D. Robert J. Vlasic Dean of Engineering Professor of Mechanical Engineering Professor of Aerospace Engineering

### MUSICAL PRELUDE AND STUDENT ORGANIZATION SHOWCASE

#### BRUNCH

#### **OPENING REMARKS**

#### LEADERSHIP AWARDS

#### ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AND RESEARCH AWARDS

#### STUDENT ORGANIZATION AWARDS

#### COLLEGE AWARDS AND PRIZES

#### DISTINGUISHED CLASS PRIZES

# CLOSING REMARKS Karen A. Thole, Ph.D.

Robert J. Vlasic Dean of Engineering Professor of Mechanical Engineering Professor of Aerospace Engineering

The photographer will be available for group photos following the conclusion of the event near the stage. Photos taken at this event may be used to promote Michigan Engineering and the University of Michigan in print and on the web.

#### **LEADERSHIP AWARDS**

# DISTINGUISHED LEADERSHIP AWARDS UNDERGRADUATE

Michael Capitani, Robotics

Ethan George, Industrial and Operations Engineering Naman Kabra, Electrical Engineering Dhiya Krupashankar, Mechanical Engineering Devin Maples, Materials Science and Engineering Katherine Watson, Chemical Engineering

#### GRADUATE

Sinan Abdulhak, Industrial and Operations Engineering Jacqueline Hannan, Industrial and Operations Engineering Allison King, Mechanical Engineering Neha Nagpal, Chemical Engineering Justin Ting, Electrical and Computer Engineering Fjorela Xhyliu, Chemical Engineering

TOM S. RICE TAU BETA PI AWARD

Adair Nolan, Chemical Engineering Kevin Masel, Materials Science and Engineering

#### TAU BETA PI FIRST-YEAR STUDENT AWARD

Rianna Gupta, Mechanical Engineering Emily Lin, Computer Engineering Gareth Tatum, Computer Engineering

## TAU BETA PI SCHOLARSHIP FOR MICHIGAN GAMMA Kris Terdprisant, *First-Year*

### HARRY B. BENFORD AWARD FOR ENTREPRENEURIAL LEADERSHIP Blake Mischley, Mechanical Engineering

#### ARLEN R. HELLWARTH AWARD

Katherine Watson, Chemical Engineering Amy Wei, Computer Science and Engineering

#### ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AND RESEARCH AWARDS DISTINGUISHED ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT UNDERGRADUATE AWARD

Peter Belkin, Aerospace Engineering Karen Jin, Biomedical Engineering Katherine Watson, Chemical Engineering Paul Quinn, Civil Engineering Lara Tobias-Tarsh, Climate and Meteorology Somya Valech, Computer Engineering Krithika Venkatasubramanian, Computer Science and Engineering **Amy Liu,** *Electrical Engineering* Jarett LeVan, Engineering Physics Meredith Gallagher, Environmental Engineering Aubree Xia, Industrial and Operations Engineering Micah Gendich, Materials Science and Engineering Nathaniel Giessner, Mechanical Engineering Ian Rosenberg, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Kaixin Xue, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Sydney Annelyn Belt, Robotics Nolan Tribu, Space Sciences and Engineering

# RICHARD F. AND ELEANOR A. TOWNER PRIZE FOR DISTINGUISHED ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT

Alexander Coppeans, Aerospace Engineering Miya Paserba, Biomedical Engineering Seokmu Kwon, Chemical Engineering Guowei (Wayne) Tu, Civil Engineering Victoria Scheidt, Climate Engineering Diwen Xue, Computer Science and Engineering Rachel Newton, Electrical and Computer Engineering Nolgie Oquendo-Colón, Engineering Education Research Mira Chaplin, Environmental Engineering Jiahao Shi, Industrial and Operations Engineering Lingxia Shi, Materials Science and Engineering Wenxi Li, Mechanical Engineering Connor Arrigan, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Flynn Darby, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Arsha Ali, Robotics Ayesha Saeed, Space Engineering

# RICHARD F. AND ELEANOR A. TOWNER PRIZE FOR OUTSTANDING PH.D. RESEARCH Thomas Augenstein, *Robotics* Shubham Mondal, *Electrical and Computer Engineering*

Shiyu Sun, Mechanical Engineering

#### RICHARD F. AND ELEANOR A. TOWNER PRIZE FOR OUT-STANDING GRADUATE STUDENT INSTRUCTORS

Alasdair Christison Gray, Aerospace Engineering Nicholas David, Materials Science and Engineering Sarah Jabbour, Computer Science and Engineering Lauren Wojciechowski, Mechanical Engineering

#### STUDENT ORGANIZATION AWARDS

OUTSTANDING STUDENT ORGANIZATION ADVISOR AWARD Timothy Chambers, Ph.D., Michigan Materials Society

ELAINE HARDEN AWARD

Tau Beta Pi- Michigan Gamma Women in Aeronautics and Astronautics

#### ADVOCACY AND SUPPORT AWARD

The University of Michigan College of Engineering Honor Council

COE COMMUNITY IMPACT AWARD University of Michigan Electric Boat

> DEI TRAILBLAZER AWARD Michigan Mars Rover Team

EMERGING LEADERS AWARD ChemE Cube at the University of Michigan

FORTITUDE AWARD Michigan Aeronautical Science Association

MEMBERSHIP DEVELOPMENT AWARD American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

OUTSTANDING OUTREACH AWARD Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers

SERVING THE COMMON GOOD AWARD Michigan Synthetic Biology Team

#### **COLLEGE AWARDS AND PRIZES**

CLIFTON S. GODDIN PRIZE Brady Wright, Chemical Engineering and Data Science

PROFESSOR PIERRE T. KABAMBA AWARD

Anil Alan, Mechanical Engineering Nouman Khan, Electrical and Computer Engineering

THE GEORGE M. LANDES PRIZE FOR TECHNICAL COMMUNICATION **FIRST-YEAR** 

> Peter Celani, Aerospace Engineering Abraao Costa, First-Year Drew Dollins, First-Year Archer Gandhi, Mechanical Engineering

#### **UPPER-LEVEL**

Bryson DenUyl, Aerospace Engineering Gary Gardella, Aerospace Engineering Braeden Germundson, Aerospace Engineering Ben Wetzler, Aerospace Engineering

# COOLEY WRITING PRIZES COMMON READ

Kaden Weingartz, First-Year

#### ESSAY

Heami Oh, Computer Science and Engineering

#### FICTION

Victoria Dawidowicz, Mechanical Engineering Heami Oh, Computer Science and Engineering

#### **STUDY ABROAD**

Ian Rosenberg, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

WILLIAM H. MACK ESSAY PRIZE Advait Iyer, Computer Engineering

ROGER M. JONES FELLOWSHIP Heami Oh, *Computer Science and Engineering* 

A. D. MOORE AWARD Rachel Marina Ward, , *Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering* 

> MARIAN SARAH PARKER PRIZE UNDERGRADUATE Samatha Staudinger, *Robotics*

> > GRADUATE Anja Sheppard, *Robotics*

#### **DISTINGUISHED CLASS PRIZES**

ARTHUR B. SINGLETON PRIZE Nathan Landig, Mechanical Engineering

CHARLES F. BARTH, JR. PRIZE Andy Yao, Computer Science and Engineering

HENRY FORD II PRIZE Sophie Chuang-Yin Chen, Computer Science and Engineering

> HUGH G. RUMLER PRIZE Sydney Annelyn Belt, *Robotics*

Jordan B. Acker, Huntington Woods Michael J. Behm, Grand Blanc Mark J. Bernstein, Ann Arbor Paul W. Brown, Ann Arbor Sarah Hubbard, Okemos Denise Ilitch, Birmingham Carl J. Meyers, Dearborn Katherine E. White, Ann Arbor Santa J. Ono, EX OFFICIO © 2025 Regents of the University of Michigan

